No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 8 Signs of Immature, Carnal Christians

How to Mature from Following Men to Following Christ

I have an embarrassing personal confession to make. For the first 10 years of my Christian life, I was an immature, carnal Christian… “How,” you wonder? The truth is, I followed men. What I mean is that I couldn’t think for myself. You see, I gave my devotion and mind to men, a movement, and a system. Then, I unconsciously let them do my thinking for me. I questioned nothing, following blindly.

Was it the Church of Rome, the Jehovah’s Witnesses, or the Mormons? No, believe it or not, it was a group of evangelicals who preached the gospel of Jesus Christ. Our group had many mature believers, including many divisive believers like myself, and a few hypocrites like all bodies do. However, the leaders didn’t welcome anyone to challenge their confession of faith and/or systematic theology. Unfortunately, I submitted my thinking to them because I over-esteemed them as the epitome of God's perfect counsel.

In the Bible, God has given us many descriptions of spiritual infancy vs. spiritual maturity. One of the descriptions of spiritual babes, in 1 Cor. 1:10-3:23, is dividing the Body of Christ by using labels, following men, and forming sub-groups. The Corinthians weren’t carnal in all areas of their lives. Paul said they were acting carnal only because of their divisive nature borne from the misguided choice to follow men over esteeming Christ alone.