Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Disturbing wording across different bible versions

To be able to experience different views of the same story is very important, the books in the Bible like Matt, Mark, Luke etc show this point very well. But some versions of the Bible go too far and change wording around to the point that the original though may be lost, or even worse, tell the wrong message all together.

I am not an expert on ancient languages, so I must rely on a translation of the Bible in the modern language I read and speak in.

But I am VERY wary of all but one bible version and that is the King James Version or the New King James Version, due to the WIDE variations in the wording that I have discovered by comparing a single verse in many versions.

I will use Luke 21:36 as my example, as I have no idea how widespread this concern of mine is throughout each version.

Luke 21:36 (New King James Version) "Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.”

That verse above looks like a pretty solid and straightforward bit of instruction from our Lord Jesus, but the next few version will be different.

Luke 21:36 (New International Version)
    Be always on the watch, and pray that you may be able to escape all that is about to happen, and that you may be able to stand before the Son of Man."

Luke 21:36 (English Standard Version)
    But stay awake at all times, praying that you may have strength to escape all these things that are going to take place and to stand before the Son of Man."